Who won the Turner Prize in 1990?

Who won the Turner Prize in 1990?

Winners and shortlisted artists

Year Winner Nominees
1989 Richard Long Gillian Ayres Lucian Freud Giuseppe Penone Paula Rego Sean Scully Richard Wilson
1991 Anish Kapoor Ian Davenport Fiona Rae Rachel Whiteread
1992 Grenville Davey Damien Hirst David Tremlett Alison Wilding

Who founded the Turner Prize?

The Turner Prize is in its thirties. The prize was first awarded in 1984. It was founded by a group called the Patrons of New Art under the directorship of Alan Bowness. They formed to encourage wider interest in contemporary art and assist Tate in acquiring new works.

Where is the Turner Prize awarded in the UK?

Tate Britain: usual venue for the awarding of the Turner Prize. The Turner Prize, named after the English painter J. M. W. Turner, is an annual prize presented to a British visual artist. Between 1991 and 2016, only artists under the age of 50 were eligible (this restriction was removed for the 2017 award).

Was the 1991 Turner Prize a massive institutional snub to British art?

The judges’ flamboyant gesture on behalf of youth will certainly have its televisual appeal … but … the 1991 Turner Prize will go down as a massive institutional snub to a chapter in British art, the generation of artists contemporary with Kapoor.

Who won the Turner Prize in 2011?

The 2011 Turner Prize took place in Gateshead at the Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art, away from the Tate in London for the first time since 2007. The winner was Martin Boyce. The other nominees were Karla Black, Hilary Lloyd and George Shaw.

Who won the Turner Prize in 1995?

Damien Hirst was awarded the 1995 Turner Prize, which included his notorious sculpture Mother and Child, Divided. Other nominees included Lebanese-born installation/video artist Mona Hatoum, abstract painter Callum Innes and multi-media artist Mark Wallinger. 1996 Douglas Gordon becomes the first video artist to win the Turner Prize.