Which local government is largest in Benue State?

Which local government is largest in Benue State?

Benue State is one of the North Central states in Nigeria with a population of about 4,253,641 in 2006 census. The state derives its name from the Benue River which is the second largest river in Nigeria….Local Government Areas.

Local Government Area Headquarters
Gboko Gboko
Guma Gbajimba
Gwer East Aliade
Gwer West Naka

How many tribes are in Benue?

2.3 The state has seven main ethnic groups each with a distinct cultural heritage, they are; Tiv, Idoma, Igede, Etulo, Utono, Akpa and Igala. The Tiv constitute the majority population. The people of Benue State hold their cultural heritage in high esteem.

When was vandeikya local government created?

28th August 1976
Vandeikya local government was created on 28th August 1976 sequel to the National Local Government Reforms of 1976.

Which council ward is the biggest in Nigeria?

Yet, Rigasa is just a ward, the largest in the country, in Igabi local government area of the state. Meanwhile, in revenue generation, Rigasa contributes more to the council, given its large market, several abattoirs and high number of vehicles.

Where is the origin of River Benue?

Adamawa Plateau
Benue River/Sources

It rises in the Adamawa Plateau of northern Cameroon, from where it flows west, and through the town of Garoua and Lagdo Reservoir, into Nigeria south of the Mandara mountains, and through Jimeta, Ibi and Makurdi before meeting the Niger River at Lokoja.

Where did idoma originated from?

There are many divergent views as to the origin of Idoma people but most historians agree that Idoma people migrated from Apa in Kwararafa Kingdom after her distintegration.

Where was Benue State created from?

February 3, 1976

Who is the chairman of Vandeikya local government?

Dennis Akura

State Benue State
Local Government Headquarters Vandeikya Town
• Local Government Chairman and the Head of the Local Government Council Dennis Akura

How many council wards are there in Vandeikya local government?

12 administrative
There are 12 administrative council wards in Vandeikya LGA. The climate is tropical sub humid with the mean annual rainfall of between 1,200 and 2,000 mm (47 ̎ and 79 ̎) averaging seven months in the year, while the mean annual temperature is 32.5°C (90°F).

How many council wards are there in Konshisha?

Konshisha Local Government has eleven (11) Council Wards/Districts, which are: Mbaiwarnyam Council Ward. Mbatsen Council Ward.

How many council wards are in Gboko?

There are Seventeen (17) council wards and Eighteen (18) districts in Gboko.

Who discovered river Benue?

In the second half of the 19th century two German explorers, Heinrich Barth and Eduard R. Flegel, in separate travels established the course of the Benue from its source to its confluence with the Niger.