Which characteristics of a system are evaluated by the Trusted Computer System Evaluation Criteria?

Which characteristics of a system are evaluated by the Trusted Computer System Evaluation Criteria?

Techopedia Explains Trusted Computer System Evaluation Criteria (TCSEC) The orange book standard includes four top-level categories of security – minimal security, discretionary protection, mandatory protection and verified protection.

What is a security evaluation?

security evaluation The examination of a system to determine its degree of compliance with a stated security model, security standard, or specification. This has commonly been used to evaluate commercially available systems.

What are the four divisions of Tcsec?

The TCSEC defines four divisions: D, C, B and A where division A has the highest security. Each division represents a significant difference in the trust an individual or organization can place on the evaluated system.

What are the functional requirements of Tcsec?

Fundamental objectives and requirements

  • Policy.
  • Accountability.
  • Assurance.
  • Documentation.
  • D – Minimal protection.
  • C – Discretionary protection.
  • B – Mandatory protection.
  • A – Verified protection.

What are the four primary criteria of a computer?

To function, a computer system requires four main aspects of data handling: input, processing, output, and storage. The hardware responsible for these four areas operates as follows: Input devices accept data in a form that the computer can use; they then send the data to the processing unit.

What is trusted path in the Trusted Computing System Evaluation Criteria Tcsec and why is needed?

Trusted Path – provides a communication path that is guaranteed to be between the user and the TCB. This is not required until B2. Audit – addresses the existence of an audit mechanism as well as protection of the audit data. This define what audit records must contain and what events that must be audited.

What is the importance of security evaluation in security measures?

A security assessment will help you to define your organizations’ current state of security and provide a roadmap to a desired future state by mapping security solutions to business goals.

What is security evaluation and security assessment?

A security assessment will help you evaluate your current security posture, identify potential risks and vulnerabilities, and provide the basis for an organization-wide incident-response plan. The comprehensive security risk assessment process can follow many different methodologies.

How many major categories do the Tcsec criteria define?

four main divisions
The TCSEC divides AISs into four main divisions, labeled D, C, B, and A, in order of increasing security protection and assurance.

What is trusted path in the Trusted Computing system Evaluation Criteria Tcsec and why is needed?

What do you understand by criteria?

Criteria is defined as the plural form of criterion, the standard by which something is judged or assessed. An example of criteria are the various SAT scores which evaluate a student’s potential for a successful educational experience at college.

What are the TCSEC ratings for Computer Products?

The TCSEC defines 6 evaluation classes identified by the rating scale from lowest to highest: D, C1, C2, B1, B2, B3, and A1. An evaluated computer product could use the appropriate rating based upon the TCSEC evaluation of that product. Such an evaluated product is called a rated product.

What is the Orange Book for computer security evaluation?

The Trusted Computer System Evaluation Criteria (1983-1999), better known as the Orange Book, was the first major computer security evaluation methodology. The Orange Book was part of a series of books developed by the Department of Defense in the 1980’s and called the Rainbow Series because of the colorful report covers.

What are the requirements of a computer system?

The computer system must contain hardware/software mechanisms that can be independently evaluated to provide sufficient assurance that the system enforces the above requirements. By extension, assurance must include a guarantee that the trusted portion of the system works only as intended.

What is tctcsec and how does it measure accountability?

TCSEC measures accountability according to independent verification, authentication and ordering. The TCSEC or “orange book” is part of a “rainbow series” of different manuals put out by U.S. federal government agencies, so named for their colorful printed covers.