What regulates all prescribers in the UK?

What regulates all prescribers in the UK?

The HCPC has adopted the Framework as published on 4 July 2016 as our standards for all prescribers.

Who can legally prescribe?

Pharmacist Independent Prescribers can prescribe any medicine for any medical condition. This includes unlicensed medicines, subject to accepted clinical good practice. They are also able to prescribe, administer, and give directions for the administration of Schedule 2, 3, 4, and 5 Controlled Drugs.

What is the difference between supplementary and independent prescribing?

The independent prescriber also has the authority to prescribe the medicines required as part of the plan. Supplementary prescribers are authorised to prescribe for patients whose condition had been diagnosed or assessed by an independent prescriber, within the parameters of an agreed treatment plan.

Who can be supplementary prescribers?

Nurses, pharmacists, physiotherapists, chiropodists or podiatrists, radiographers and optometrists may train and register as a supplementary prescriber.

Who can be independent prescribers of medication?

Prescribing unlicensed medicines Only doctors, dentists, nurses and pharmacists are able to independently prescribe unlicensed medicines. Registrants who are supplementary prescribers can prescribe unlicensed medicines, but only in accordance with the patient’s clinical management plan.

What is the RPS framework?

The Royal Pharmaceutical Society has updated its Competency Framework for all Prescribers, which sets out what good prescribing looks like across all health professions. The framework is for all regulators, professional bodies, education providers, prescribing professions and patients/carers to use.

What are the three legal categories of medicines under the medicines Act?

The Act defines three categories of medicine: prescription only medicines (POM), which are available only from a pharmacist if prescribed by an appropriate practitioner; pharmacy medicines (P), available only from a pharmacist but without a prescription; and general sales list (GSL) medicines which may be bought from …

What can a prescribing pharmacist prescribe?

Pharmacists have the authority to prescribe all drugs except narcotics and controlled substances. Before a pharmacist will prescribe, they have to know you and your health condition and be competent to prescribe for your health condition.

Who can do non medical prescribing?

Currently nurses, pharmacists, optometrists, physiotherapists, chiropodists or podiatrists, radiographers and community practitioners may undertake further professional training to qualify as non-medical prescribers.

What is a non medical prescribing course?

This qualification enables you to gain the knowledge and skills required for safe, appropriate and effective prescribing practice as you become eligible to apply for the annotation to your regulator register as an Independent and/or Supplementary Prescriber.

What is a non-medical prescribing course?

What is the HCPC’s standard for prescribing?

The HCPC has adopted the Framework as published on 4 July 2016 as our standards for all prescribers. Legislation sets out which professions may act as prescribers. Of our registered professions, the following may complete additional post-registration training to become supplementary prescribers: Therapeutic radiographers.

What is the HCPC competency framework for prescribers?

The HCPC has adopted the current Royal Pharmaceutical Society’s, ‘A Competency Framework for all Prescribers’ (the Framework) as published on 4 July 2016 as our standards for all prescribers. Any updating versions of the Framework will not be applied by the HCPC unless and until approved by our Council.

What does the change to HCPC status mean for prescribers?

This means HCPC registered prescribers can no longer independently prescribe these medicines. Read our joint statement on this change here .

What are the prescribing standards?

These standards therefore set out safe and effective prescribing practice. They are the threshold standards we consider necessary to protect members of the public. We have numbered the standards so that you can refer to them more easily.