What is the National Day of Australia?

What is the National Day of Australia?

Australia Day is the official national day of Australia. Observed annually on 26 January, it marks the 1788 landing of the First Fleet at Sydney Cove and raising of the Union Flag by Arthur Phillip following days of exploration of Port Jackson in New South Wales.

How will you Celebrate 20 years of ephemera?

Celebrating 20 years of sun, sand and art by downloading a copy of the exhibition map and taking a self-guided tour along the Strand. The addition of the acquisitive prize is proudly supported by the Queensland Government. Ephemera will showcase 29 artworks by local and nationally-renowned artists.

How do you Celebrate Australia Day in Adelaide?

In Adelaide, the key celebrations are “Australia Day in the City” which is a parade, concert and fireworks display held in Elder Park, with a new outdoor art installation in 2019 designed to acknowledge, remember and recognise Aboriginal people who have contributed to the community.

How many artworks will be displayed at ephemera?

Ephemera will showcase 29 artworks by local and nationally-renowned artists. Learn about the artists who will be judging at Ephemera. Educational resources have been developed for self-guided learning adventures along The Strand. Love Ephemera? Would you like your favourite artwork recognised?

Why is 26 January a national holiday in Australia?

Prior to 1888, 26 January was very much a New South Wales affair, as each of the colonies had its own commemoration for its founding. In Tasmania, Regatta Day occurred initially in December to mark the anniversary of the landing of Abel Tasman. South Australia celebrated Proclamation Day on 28 December.

What are the different types of events on Australia Day?

Outdoor concerts, community barbecues, sports competitions, festivals and fireworks are some of the many events held in communities across Australia. These official events are presented by the National Australia Day Council, an official council or committee in each state and territory, and local committees.