What are the 36 states and capital of Nigeria?

What are the 36 states and capital of Nigeria?

List of Nigeria’s 36 States with their Capitals and Current Governors

S. No State Capital
1 Abia State Umuahia
2 Adamawa State Yola
3 Akwa Ibom State Uyo
4 Anambra State Awka

Who created Abuja?

King Abubakar
King Abubakar founded the kingdom of Abuja. The problems associated with the capital being in Lagos, as mentioned earlier, led to the search for a new capital that year. Abuja was selected from amongst 33 possible sites.

Who Moved FCT from Lagos to Abuja?

The Federal Military Government of Nigeria, promulgated decree No. 6 on the 4th of February, 1976, which initiated the removal of the Federal Capital from Lagos to Abuja.

How many states are there in Nigeria map?

36 states
A clickable map of Nigeria showing its 36 states and the federal capital territory.

How many states Nigeria have?

Nigeria is a federation of 36 states and 1 federal capital territory.

What is the 29 state and capital?

List of 29 States and Capital (States and Capital of India)….29 States of India and Their Capitals and Languages.

Name of the State Capital City Official Languages
Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar English
Assam Dispur Assamese
Bihar Patna Hindi
Chhattisgarh Raipur Chhattisgarhi

What does Abuja mean in English?

Abuja; capital of Nigeria; Nigerian capital; national capital.

What is the full meaning of Abuja?

The name Abuja is coined out of the Hausa language and it was derived from the name Abubakar –Ja and Abubakar-Ja is derived from the name of a person called Mallam Abubakar JA and the name “Abubakar” is an Islamic name while the word “Ja” is referring to a red color in the Hausa Language; so Abubakar-Ja is literally …

Is Abuja bigger than Lagos?

Until 1975 it was the capital of Lagos state, and until December 1991 it was the federal capital of Nigeria. Ikeja replaced Lagos as the state capital, and Abuja replaced Lagos as the federal capital. Lagos is Nigeria’s largest city and one of the largest in sub-Saharan Africa.

Where is Nigeria First capital?

Calabar is considered as the first capital of Nigeria because it served as the first capital of the Southern Protectorate, the Oil River Protectorate, and Niger Coast Protectorate. This was until the late nineteenth century, when the administrative centre of the Southern protectorate was moved to Lagos in 1906.

Is Abuja a state in Nigeria?

Abuja, the capital city of Nigeria, is located in this territory. FCT was formed in 1976 from parts of the states of old Kwara, Niger, Kaduna and Plateau States with the bulk of landmass carved out of Niger State….Federal Capital Territory (Nigeria)

Federal Capital Territory
Country Nigeria
Date created 3 February 1976
Capital Abuja

What are the capitals of Nigeria?

Abuja is the capital city of Nigeria. It has a population of 590,400, and is located on a latitue of 9.06 and longitude of 7.5.

What cities are in Nigeria?

Nigeria is a country with a large population which is located in the continent/region of Africa. Countries near Nigeria include Cameroon, Benin, Equatorial Guinea and Togo. Its biggest cities and towns include Lagos, Kano, Ibadan and Kaduna.

What is the most populated city in Nigeria?

The largest city in Nigeria is Lagos. This port city, which is located on the country’s southeastern coast, has an official population of 10.2 million in its administrative area.

How many cities are in Nigeria?

Its biggest city, Lagos, contributes 9 million residents to the total population, while there are also 79 cities with a minimum population of 100,000 and 249 cities with populations that surpass 10,000. Nigeria has a total of 36 states, and 774 Local Government Areas that are spread across the 39th most populous country in the world.