What are NUTS 3 regions?

What are NUTS 3 regions?

The nomenclature of territorial units for statistics (Nomenclature des Unités territoriales statistiques – NUTS) is a geographical system, according to which the territory of the European Union is divided into hierarchical levels. The three hierarchical levels are known as NUTS -1, NUTS -2 and NUTS -3.

How many NUTS 3 regions are there?

The current NUTS 2021 classification is valid from 1 January 2021 and lists 92 regions at NUTS 1, 242 regions at NUTS 2 and 1166 regions at NUTS 3 level.

What is a NUTS number?

Nomenclature of Territorial Units for Statistics or NUTS (French: Nomenclature des unités territoriales statistiques) is a geocode standard for referencing the subdivisions of countries for statistical purposes. The subdivision of the country is then referred to with one number.

What is the NUTS classification?

Classification of Territorial Units for Statistics – abbreviated as NUTS (from the French: Nomenclature des Unités territoriales statistiques; also known as: Nomenclature of Territorial Units for Statistics) is a geographical standard used for a statistical division of the EU Member States economic territories into …

What is a nuts location?

The Nomenclature of Territorial Units for Statistics (NUTS) is a hierarchical classification of administrative areas, used across the European Union (EU) for statistical purposes. East of England is one of 12 NUTS 1 areas in the UK.

What are nuts also called?

Also widely known as nuts are dry drupes, which include pecans (Carya illinoensis), almonds (Prunus amygdalus), macadamia (Macadamia integrifolia), candlenut (Aleurites moluccanus), water caltrop (Trapa bicornis) and walnuts (Juglans regia).

What are the 12 regions of the England?

In this section

  • Relationship of NUTS areas to UK administrative geographies.
  • North East (England)
  • North West (England)
  • Yorkshire and The Humber.
  • East Midlands (England)
  • West Midlands (England)
  • East of England.
  • London.

Are nuts a fruit?

Botanically, a nut is a dry fruit that consists of a hard shell covering a single seed. Some examples of true nuts include acorns, chestnuts, and hazelnuts. Some refer to them as “nut-like drupes”, others as “drupaceous nuts”.

How many different types of nuts are there?

Inside the shell, the fruit’s seed, or kernel, develops. Many tree nuts like almonds and hazelnuts start out as beautiful flowers. There are over 53 types of nuts found in the world. Of the edible type, there are over 20.

Which nut is not really a nut?

Some examples of true nuts include acorns, chestnuts, and hazelnuts. On the other hand, the fruits of the cashew, almond, and pistachio plants are not true nuts, but are rather classified as “drupes.” Drupes are fruits that are fleshy on the outside and contain a shell covering a seed on the inside.

How many regions are there in UK?


Regions of England
Created 1994
Number 9
Additional status ITL 1 region European constituency (1999–2020)
Populations 2,669,941–9,180,135

Are coconuts a nut?

A nut can be defined as a one- seeded fruit. With that loose definition, a coconut can also be a nut. However, a coconut is not a true nut. A true nut, such as the acorn, are indehiscent or do not open at maturity to release its seeds.

What is the NUTS 3 level of region?

In countries with small populations, where the entire country would be placed on the NUTS 2 or even NUTS 3 level (ex. Luxembourg, Cyprus), the regions at levels 1, 2 and 3 are identical to each other (and also to the entire country), but are coded with the appropriate length codes levels 1, 2 and 3.

How many NUTS regions are there in 2020?

The current NUTS classification, dated 21 November 2016 and effective from 1 January 2018 (now updated to current members as of 2020), lists 92 regions at NUTS 1, 244 regions at NUTS 2, 1215 regions at NUTS 3 level, and 99,387 local administrative units (LAUs).

How many nuts units are there in Poland in 2021?

In the next NUTS 2021 (2019) revision no changes by NUTS units were introduced in Poland. There are 97 NUTS units in Poland since 1 January 2018: In addition, the NUTS Regulation requires that NUTS level 3 shall be subdivided into local administrative units (LAU).

What is the current NUTS 2021 classification?

The current NUTS 2021 classificationis valid from 1 January 2021 and lists 92 regions at NUTS 1, 242 regions at NUTS 2 and 1166 regions at NUTS 3 level. The NUTS classification (Nomenclature of territorial units for statistics) is a hierarchical system for dividing up the economic territory of the EU and the UK for the purpose of: