Who is former president of Madagascar?

Who is former president of Madagascar?

Marc Ravalomanana GCSK (Malagasy: [raˌvaluˈmananə̥]) (born 12 December 1949) is a Malagasy politician who was the President of Madagascar from 2002 to 2009….

Marc Ravalomanana
Personal details
Born 12 December 1949 Imerinkasinina, Madagascar
Political party I Love Madagascar
Spouse(s) Lalao Ravalomanana (1974–present)

How many presidents are in Madagascar?


No. Name (Birth–Death) Term of office
Time in office
6 Hery Rajaonarimampianina (1958–) 4 years, 225 days
Rivo Rakotovao (1960–) 134 days
7 Andry Rajoelina (1974–) 2 years, 364 days

Who is the ruler of Madagascar?

List of presidents of Madagascar

President of the Republic of Madagascar
Presidential Standard
Incumbent Andry Rajoelina since 19 January 2019
Style President His Excellency
Residence Iavoloha Palace

What did Andry Rajoelina do?

Rajoelina was appointed as President of the High Transitional Authority of Madagascar (HTA) by a military council, in a move characterised as a coup d’état by the international community. He won the 2018 presidential election and was inaugurated President of Madagascar on 19 January 2019.

Who was first president of Malawi?

President of Malawi

No. Name (Birth–Death) Term of office
Took office
1 Hastings Banda ( c. 1899–1997) 6 July 1966
2 Bakili Muluzi (born 1943) 24 May 1994
3 Bingu wa Mutharika (1934–2012) 24 May 2004

Did Madagascar have any wars?

What kind of conflicts has Madagascar faced? Since 1947, when an uprising against French colonial rule pitted two ethnic communities — the Merina and Côtiers — against each other, Madagascar has endured internal conflicts once every 10 to 20 years.

When were the elections in Madagascar in 2013?

Presidential and parliamentary elections were held in Madagascar on 20 December 2013, following a first round of presidential elections on 25 October. The presidential elections in December were a runoff between Jean Louis Robinson and Hery Rajaonarimampianina, the top two candidates to emerge from the first round of voting in October.

Who is the president of Madagascar?

Andry Nirina Rajoelina (born 30 May 1974) a Malagasy businessman and politician, is the president of Madagascar.

What happened to the National Assembly in Madagascar?

On 19 March 2009, Rajoelina dissolved the National Assembly of Madagascar and the Senate of Madagascar. Parliamentary elections were planned for 2011, after being postponed from 20 March 2010 and then 30 September 2010.

What was the result of the Madagascar referendum of 2010?

A constitutional referendum, originally scheduled for September 2009, was held in Madagascar on 17 November 2010, in which voters approved a proposal for the state’s fourth Constitution.