What was the result of the 2010 election?

What was the result of the 2010 election?

The 2010 United States elections were held on Tuesday, November 2, 2010, in the middle of Democratic President Barack Obama’s first term. Republicans ended unified Democratic control of Congress and the presidency by winning a majority in the House of Representatives.

When did conservatives gain power?

Conservative Party (UK)

Conservative and Unionist Party
Chief Executive Mike Chattey (acting)
Founded 1834; 187 years ago (original form) 1912; 109 years ago (current form)
Merger of Conservative Party Liberal Unionist Party
Preceded by Tories

What was the conservative majority in 2019?

The 2019 United Kingdom general election was held on Thursday, 12 December 2019. It resulted in the Conservative Party receiving a landslide majority of 80 seats. The Conservatives made a net gain of 48 seats and won 43.6% of the popular vote – the highest percentage for any party since 1979.

Which political party was in power UK 2009?

Labour, taking the blame in government from a worsening economic climate, soaring unemployment and the expenses scandal, lost all of its councils, with some authorities being swept clear of any Labour councillors at all.

When did Labour lose power?

Labour lost the 2010 general election which resulted in the first hung parliament in thirty-six years and led to the creation of a Conservative–Liberal Democrat coalition government. Brown resigned as Prime Minister and as Labour Party leader shortly thereafter.

How many seats did Conservatives gain in 2019?

The Conservatives, led by Andrew Scheer, won 121 seats and remained the Official Opposition.

What was the conservative majority in 2017?

This year the Conservatives won 48.9% of the seats with 42.4% of the popular vote, giving them a seats to vote ratio of 1.2. Labour, however, won 40.2% of the seats with 40.0% of votes meaning their seats to vote ratio was 1.0.

Which government was in power in 2002?

Third Vajpayee ministry
Head of state K. R. Narayanan (until 25 July 2002) A. P. J. Abdul Kalam (from 25 July 2002)
Head of government Atal Bihari Vajpayee
Deputy head of government L. K. Advani

How many people voted in the 2010 general election UK?

The 2010 United Kingdom general election was held on Thursday 6 May 2010, with 45,597,461 registered voters entitled to vote to elect members to the House of Commons. The election took place in 650 constituencies across the United Kingdom under the first-past-the-post system.

How many seats did the Conservatives win in the general election?

Of the 532 seats contested in England (a final seat, Thirsk and Malton, was contested on 27 May), the Conservatives won 298 seats and an absolute majority of 61 seats over all other parties combined, securing an average swing of 5.6% from Labour.

What was the result of the 2011 general election?

A by-election on 13 January 2011 resulted in the election of Debbie Abrahams (Labour). For results by county/region and analysis, see Results breakdown of the 2010 United Kingdom general election. For results by constituency, see Results of the 2010 United Kingdom general election.

What happened in the general election 2010 in Warwickshire?

^ “General Election 2010: Jacqui Smith defeated in Redditch”. The Telegraph. ^ “Election 2010: Labour minister Mike O’Brien loses North Warwickshire seat”. Coventry Telegraph. 7 May 2010.