What lies to the north and south of Europe?

What lies to the north and south of Europe?

Europe is a peninsula of the Eurasian supercontinent and is bordered by the Arctic Ocean to the north, the Atlantic Ocean to the west, and the Mediterranean, Black, and Caspian Seas to the south.

Which countries are in South Europe?

The 15 countries[45] which make up this subregion are Albania, Andorra, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Greece, Italy, Malta, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovenia, Spain, The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Yugoslavia (Figure 30-1).

How are the continents divided?

Today we divide the world into seven continents: North America and South America are two separate continents linked by an isthmus; across the Atlantic Ocean sits Africa, a large continent straddling the Equator; separated from Africa by the Mediterranean Sea, Europe is, in fact, a peninsula, extending westward from the …

How Europe is divided?

Europe has been traditionally divided into regions based on location according to the four points of the compass: Eastern Europe, southern Europe, Western Europe, and northern Europe. For historical political purposes, Europe is divided into the two regions of Western Europe and Eastern Europe.

What are the four main countries that make up Southern Europe?

Portugal and Spain are classified as “Southwestern Europe”, while Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Romania, Serbia and Turkey (the part west of the Bosporus) are described as located in “Southeastern Europe”.

What is the biggest country in South Europe?

Spain. Spain is Southern Europe’s largest country by area, as well as the second-largest in the European Union (EU) and the fourth largest in the continent.

Is Russia a part of Europe?

Russia is part of both Europe and Asia. In the 7 continent model in fact, it is not always clear where to place Russia.

What is the only continent that Europe is larger than?

Europe is the sixth-largest continent. It is only slightly larger than Canada. Yet, it has more than twice as many people as South America. The Ural Mountains separate Europe from Asia.

What countries are there in southern Europe?

Countries in southern Europe include Italy, Andorra , Macedonia, Gibraltar, Greece, France, Spain, Portugal, Albania, Serbia, Kosovo, Montenegro, Slovenia, Croatia and Bosnia-Herzegovina. Austria can be considered part of southern Europe because it borders Italy and other Baltic countries.

What is the physical geography of Southern Europe?

Physical geography. Greece is located in Southern Europe, bordering the Ionian Sea and the Mediterranean Sea, between Albania and Turkey. It is a peninsular country, with an archipelago of about 3,000 islands.

What region is southern Europe in?

The region of Southern Europe, also called Mediterranean Europe, extends along the Mediterranean Sea on the Southern edge of Europe. It encompasses the major countries of Portugal, Spain, Italy, and Greece, as well as the lesser nations of Andorra , Monaco , Vatican City, San Marino , and Malta ( Bradshaw , 2002, p. 333).

Where is north west Europe?

Europe is located north of Africa, west of Russia and northwest of the Middle East and Asia. Additionally, it is located north of the Mediterranean Sea , west of the Atlantic Ocean and south of the Barents Sea.