What is UniFormat classification building?

What is UniFormat classification building?

Uniformat is a standard for classifying building specifications, cost estimating, and cost analysis in the U.S. and Canada. The elements are major components common to most buildings. The system can be used to provide consistency in the economic evaluation of building projects.

What is CSI UniFormat?

UniFormat™, a publication of CSI and CSC, is a method of arranging construction information based on functional elements, or parts of a facility characterized by their functions, without regard to the materials and methods used to accomplish them. These elements are often referred to as systems or assemblies.

What is the difference between MasterFormat and UniFormat?

The two standards are fundamentally different in their intent. UniFormat is a systems-based organization of building content. MasterFormat is a material-based organization of building content. UniFormat can be used to differentiate the many places concrete is used in a building.

What is Uniformat II hierarchy?

The UNIFORMAT II hierarchy consists of three levels: Level 1, Major Group Elements; Level 2, Group Elements; and Level 3, Individual Elements. Thus, the core concept of an element resides at Level 3.

What is ASTM Uniformat II?

ASTM E1557, UNIFORMAT II, defines a standard classification for building elements and related sitework. The classification was the direct responsibility of Subcommittee E-06.81 on Building Economics, and it is the only such standard in North America.

What is the Uniformat II hierarchy?

How many divisions are in the Uniformat?

UniFormat is organized into nine major categories (Level 1), each of which are then broken down into four additional sub-levels (Level 2 through Level 5) that add further detail as necessary. Below is a list of the Level 1 and Level 2 elements.

What is CSI format in construction?

The Construction Specifications Institute’s (CSI) MasterFormat is the most widely used standard for organizing specifications for building projects in the U.S. and Canada.

What are CSI codes in construction?

The Construction Specifications Institute (CSI) is the founding institution for organizing and coding specifications related to construction projects.

What are the CSI divisions?

The Difference Between the 16 Division CSI MasterFormat and the 50 Division Version

  • Division 01 — General Requirement.
  • Division 02 — Site Construction.
  • Division 03 — Concrete.
  • Division 04 — Masonry.
  • Division 05 — Metals.
  • Division 06 — Wood and Plastics.
  • Division 07 — Thermal and Moisture Protection.

What is a CSI code in construction?

The 16 Divisions of construction, as defined by the Construction Specifications Institute (CSI)’s MasterFormat, is the most widely used standard for organizing specifications and other written information for commercial and institutional building projects in the U.S. and Canada.

What is OmniClass?

OmniClass™ is a classification system for the construction industry, characterized as “a strategy for classifying the built environment.” OmniClass is useful for many applications where organizing information is helpful.

What is UniFormat II?

The elemental building classification UNIFORMAT II meets these objectives. Elements are major components, common to most buildings, that usually perform a given function regardless of the design specification, construction method, or materials used. Examples of elements are foundations, exterior walls, sprinkler systems, and lighting.

What is the difference between ASTM and UniFormat II classifications?

Whereas, UNIFORMAT II classifications, published by ASTM International, are specific to functional elements arranged in discrete tables for particular industry forms of construction – buildings, bridges, roads etc.

What is the ASTM E1557 UniFormat II?

About UNIFORMAT II. The ASTM E1557 “Standard Classification for Building Elements and Related Sitework – UNIFORMAT II” provides a common structure linking the building program, specifications, and estimates. Its integration in the design process results in improved communications and coordination among all project participants,…

What is uniuniformat II?

UNIFORMAT II, first issued by ASTM in 1993, is an enhanced version developed by a task group that included amongst others CSI, GSA, AACE, the Tri-Services, R.S. Means and CIQS. It is more comprehensive than the original, particularly with respect to the mechanical and sitework elements.