What is La Trinidad Benguet known for?

What is La Trinidad Benguet known for?

La Trinidad, officially the Municipality of La Trinidad (Ilocano: Ili ti La Trinidad; Tagalog: Bayan ng La Trinidad), is a 1st class municipality and capital of the province of Benguet, Philippines. The municipality is known for its strawberry plantations earning the title “Strawberry Fields of the Philippines”.

Is Benguet a city or province?

Its capital is La Trinidad. The highland province is known as the Salad Bowl of the Philippines due to its huge production of upland vegetables. Situated within the interior of Benguet is the highly urbanized city of Baguio, which is administered independent from the province….

Website benguet.gov.ph

Is Baguio and Benguet the same?

Baguio City is an independent city not belonging to any province. The city used to be part of the province of Benguet which completely surrounds the city. It is also the administrative center of the Cordillera Administrative Region.

How La Trinidad Benguet got its name?

La Trinidad is so named after her discoverer, Lt. Col. Guillermo Galvey’s beautiful wife, in April 21, 1874 when Commandant Manuel Scheidnagel arrives in Benguet and names the capital in the so-called Benguet Valley, La Trinidad.

How many hectares is Benguet?

A total of 13 municipalities and 140 barangays make up the province. As of 2010, Benguet has a total land area of 2,833.0 square kilometers with most of it falling within the Cordillera Forest Reserve. Forest land totals 214,523 hectares with forest land comprising 0f 105,626 hectares as of May 2007.

Is Benguet part of Mountain Province?

Mountain Province was also the name of the historical province that included most of the current Cordillera provinces. This old province was established by the Philippine Commission in 1908, and was later split in 1966 into Mountain Province, Benguet, Kalinga-Apayao and Ifugao.

How many provinces are there in Benguet?

The region comprises six provinces: Abra, Apayao, Benguet, Ifugao, Kalinga and Mountain Province. The regional center is the highly urbanized city of Baguio….Regional Divisions.

Province or HUC Benguet
Capital La Trinidad
Population (2020 estimate) 846,552
Area km2 2,769.08

Is Baguio and Benguet separated?

It is within the geographical jurisdiction of Benguet, which was part of the old Mountain Province before it was divided into the present four provinces by virtue of Republic Act (RA) 4695 or the Division Law.

Is Benguet part of northern Luzon?

Benguet, together with Abra, Apayao, Baguio City, Ifugao, Kalinga, and Mountain Province comprise the Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR) in Northern Luzon. It has a Mountainous terrain of peaks, ridges, and canyons; and a temperate and gen erally pleasant climate.

Where is Bokod in the Philippines?

Bokod is in the “2nd” Voting Congressional District of Benguet. Bokod is a 4th class Municipality and Rural. Bokod is in the Benguet province.

What is the population of the province of Benguet?

Bokod is a municipality in the landlocked province of Benguet. The municipality has a land area of 274.96 square kilometers or 106.16 square miles which constitutes 9.93% of Benguet’s total area. Its population as determined by the 2015 Census was 13,756.

What is the history of Bokod town in Benguet?

On June 25, 1963, President Diosdado Macapagal issued Executive Order No. 42 converting eight (8) of the thirteen (13) towns (designated as municipal districts) of Benguet sub-province into regular municipalities. Bokod was among them.

What is the meaning of the word Bokod?

Bokod, officially the Municipality of Bokod, (Ilocano: Ili ti Bokod; Tagalog: Bayan ng Bokod), is a 4th class municipality in the province of Benguet, Philippines. According to the 2015 census, it has a population of 13,756 people.