What are the four hemispheres of the brain?

What are the four hemispheres of the brain?

Any circle drawn around the Earth divides it into two equal halves called hemispheres. There are generally considered to be four hemispheres: Northern, Southern, Eastern, and Western.

What do the different hemispheres of the brain do?

In general, the left hemisphere controls speech, comprehension, arithmetic, and writing. The right hemisphere controls creativity, spatial ability, artistic, and musical skills. The left hemisphere is dominant in hand use and language in about 92% of people.

What are the five hemispheres of the brain?

Each cerebral hemisphere is divided into five lobes, four of which have the same name as the bone over them: the frontal lobe, the parietal lobe, the occipital lobe, and the temporal lobe. A fifth lobe, the insula or Island of Reil, lies deep within the lateral sulcus.

What are the 3 cerebral hemispheres?

The cerebrum is divided into the left and right hemispheres by a deep longitudinal fissure; the two hemispheres remain in contact and communication with one another by the corpus callosum. Each hemisphere further subdivides into a frontal, parietal, occipital, and temporal lobe.

What hemisphere are the 7 continents?

Location of the Continents The continent of North America is entirely located in the Northern Hemisphere and slightly within the Western Hemisphere. Antarctica and Oceania are located in the Southern Hemisphere; Antarctica being the only continent entirely situated in the Southern Hemisphere.

What hemisphere means?

1 : one of the halves of the earth as divided by the equator or by a meridian. 2 : a half of a sphere. 3 : either the left or the right half of the cerebrum.

Is the frontal lobe on the left or right hemisphere?

You have two frontal lobes: one in the right hemisphere of your brain and one in the left hemisphere of your brain. They’re located in the area of the brain that’s directly behind your forehead. Your frontal lobes are vital for many important functions.

Do all brains have two hemispheres?

A. All brains have two connected sides, called the right and left hemispheres. In the figure, you see the inside of the right hemisphere of a human brain. The main colored parts are the cerebral cortex, the cerebellum, and the brainstem.

What part of the brain is divided into hemispheres?

Cerebrum. The cerebrum is the largest part of the brain. It is divided into 2 halves called the left and right cerebral hemispheres. The 2 hemispheres are connected by a bridge of nerve fibres called the corpus callosum. The right half of the cerebrum (right hemisphere) controls the left side of the body.

The cerebral hemispheres have distinct fissures, which divide the brain into lobes. Each hemisphere has 4 lobes: frontal, temporal, parietal, and occipital (Fig. 3). Each lobe may be divided, once again, into areas that serve very specific functions. It’s important to understand that each lobe of the brain does not function alone.

What does each hemisphere of the brain do?

In general, each of the hemispheres of the brain controls the opposite side of the body. For example, the nerve impulses needed to move the right hand typically come from the left side of the brain. Similarly, each side of the brain typically processes sensory information for the opposite side of the body.

What is the brain part divided into hemispheres called?

The cerebrum, which forms the major portion of the brain, is divided into two major parts: the right and left cerebral hemispheres. The cerebrum is a term often used to describe the entire brain. A fissure or groove that separates the two hemispheres is called the great longitudinal fissure.