What are the 8 elements of PHC?

What are the 8 elements of PHC?

Specifically, Alma-Ata Declaration has outlined eight essential components of PHC [1], including: (1) Health education on prevailing health problems and the methods of preventing and controlling them; (2) Nutritional promotion including food supply; (3) Supply of adequate safe water and sanitation; (4) Maternal and …

What are the 4a’s of PHC?

Principles of Primary Health Care 1. 4 A’s = Accessibility, Availability, Affordability & Acceptability, Appropriateness of health services. They should make use of the available resources within the community, wherein the focus would be more on health promotion and prevention of illness.

What are the 5 principles of PHC?

Five (5) Principles of Primary Health Care (PHC):

  • Social equity.
  • Nation-wide coverage/wider coverage.
  • Self- reliance.
  • Intersectoral coordination.
  • People’s involvement (in planning and implementation of programs)

What are the functions of PHC?

Primary Health Centre (India)

  • Provision of medical care.
  • Maternal-child health including family planning.
  • Safe water supply and basic sanitation.
  • Prevention and control of locally endemic diseases.
  • Collection and reporting of vital statistics.
  • Education about health.
  • National health programmes, as relevant.
  • Referral services.

What is full PHC?

Primary health care (PHC) addresses the majority of a person’s health needs throughout their lifetime. PHC is a whole-of-society approach that includes health promotion, disease prevention, treatment, rehabilitation and palliative care.

Where was Alma Ata conference held?

The International Conference on Primary Health Care (PHC) in Alma-Ata, Kazakhstan, in 1978, brought together 134 countries and 67 international organizations. The conference defined and granted international recognition to the concept of Primary Health Care as a strategy to reach the goal of Health for All in 2000.

What is the major goal of CHN?

The primary goal of community health nursing is to help a community protect and preserve the health of its members, while the secondary goal is to promote self-care among individuals and families.

WHO was Alma-Ata 1978?

The Alma-Ata Declaration of 1978 emerged as a major milestone of the twentieth century in the field of public health, and it identified primary health care as the key to the attainment of the goal of Health for All.