What are the 5 main food groups and their function?

What are the 5 main food groups and their function?

A balanced diet is made up of foods from the five food groups: starchy carbohydrates, fruits and vegetables, protein, dairy and healthy fats. Each provides the range of vitamins and minerals our bodies need to function efficiently.

What are the 5 different food groups?

As the MyPlate icon shows, the five food groups are Fruits, Vegetables, Grains, Protein Foods, and Dairy. The 2015-2020 Dietary Guidelines for Americans emphasizes the importance of an overall healthy eating pattern with all five groups as key building blocks, plus oils.

What are the different food groups and their functions?

Food group fun

  • 1 Carbohydrates. Carbohydrates give you energy, calcium and B vitamins.
  • 2 Protein. Think of proteins as building blocks for the body – they help it grow and repair itself.
  • 3 Dairy products.
  • 4 Fruit and vegetables.
  • 5 Fats and sugars.

What are the 6 main food groups and their function?

The 6 Major Food Groups

  • Whole grains and starchy vegetables.
  • Fruits and non-starchy vegetables.
  • Dairy and non-dairy alternatives.
  • Fish, poultry, meat, eggs and alternatives.
  • Heart-healthy oils.
  • Elective or Discretionary Calories.

What are the 7 types of food groups?

These are carbohydrates, proteins, fats, vitamins, minerals, fibre and water. It is important that everyone consumes these seven nutrients on a daily basis to help them build their bodies and maintain their health.

What is the most important food group?

Which food groups are the most important?

  • Whole grains. A good source of beneficial carbohydrates and packed full of fibre, vitamins and minerals, this food group can have a positive effect on diseases such as diabetes, cancer and heart disease.
  • Protein.
  • Fruit and vegetables.
  • Dairy.
  • Fats.

What are the three types of food groups?

these are breakfast, lunch and dinner. In between the meals we also eat snacks. Our body gets the required nutrients from these meals of the day. Therefore it is very important that these three meals should include food items from all the five food groups.

What are the different food groups in the pyramid?

Reference Food Pyramid. There are six categories in the Food Pyramid: the bread, cereal, rice, and pasta group (grains), the fruit group, the vegetable group, the meat, poultry, fish, dry beans, eggs, and nuts group (protein), the milk, yogurt, and cheese group (dairy), and the fats, oils, and sweets group.

What are different types of food?

The seven food categories are:

  • Vegetables.
  • Fruits.
  • Grains, legumes, nuts and seeds.
  • Meat and poultry.
  • Fish and seafood.
  • Dairy foods.
  • Eggs.

What are the 3 main types of food?

I want to introduce you to the three food groups.

  • Animal products.
  • Processed plant fragments.
  • Whole plants.

Why is it important to eat from all the food groups?

Eating a variety of foods from the 5 major food groups provides a range of different nutrients to the body, promotes good health and can help reduce the risk of disease – as well as keeping your diet interesting with different flavours and textures.

Which are the main food groups?

What are the five food groups?

  • Fruit and vegetables.
  • Starchy food.
  • Dairy.
  • Protein.
  • Fat.

What are the names of the four food groups?

The basic four food groups are: The milk group: Milk, cheese, ice cream, and other milk-based foods. The meat group: Meat, fish, poultry, and eggs, with dried legumes and nuts as alternatives. The fruits and vegetables group. The breads and cereals group.

What are the different types of food groups?

Fruits. The fruit food group encompasses a wide range of fresh fruits and fruit products,including dried,frozen and canned fruit,and 100 percent fruit juice.

  • Vegetables.
  • Grains.
  • Protein Foods.
  • Dairy.
  • Why to eat from the five food groups?

    Our regular daily food choices should primarily come from the five food groups. Formerly known as breads and cereals: this is a an important group, as it provides our primary source of carbohydrates, which should make up at least 50% of our daily energy intake.

    What are the classifications of food groups?

    The first two numbers in a classification refer to the major food group a food belongs to, based on its key ingredient. The classification system developed for the AHS contains 24 major food groups and they cover groupings such as beverages, cereals, eggs, fats and oils, fish, meat, dairy, fruit, vegetables, legumes and special purpose foods.