What are the 17 US territories?

What are the 17 US territories?

The US Territories are:

  • Puerto Rico.
  • Guam.
  • US Virgin Islands.
  • Northern Mariana Islands.
  • American Samoa.
  • Midway Atoll.
  • Palmyra Atoll.
  • Baker Island.

Are there 7 US territories?

Currently, the United States has five major U.S. territories: American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Each such territory is partially self-governing that exists under the authority of the U.S. government. It has been a territory since that act passed.

Does US have 50 or 52 states?

States of the U.S. There are fifty (50) states and Washington D.C.The last two states to join the Union were Alaska (49th) and Hawaii (50th). Both joined in 1959. Washington D.C. is a federal district under the authority of Congress. Local government is run by a mayor and 13 member city council.

What are the five territories owned by the US?

American Samoa

  • Guam
  • Northern Mariana Islands
  • Puerto Rico
  • U.S. Virgin Islands.
  • What are the 54 states and territories of the US?


  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Where are most of the US territories located?

    Territories of the United States are scattered throughout the Pacific Ocean and the Caribbean Sea . States possess a number of powers and rights under the United States Constitution, such as regulating intrastate commerce, running elections, creating local governments, and ratifying constitutional amendments.

    What is the name of the biggest territories?

    China: 22 Provinces and 11 – 12 Regions. China may not be the largest country in the world in terms of landmass,but population-wise the country far surpasses any

  • France: 12 Overseas Departments and Territories. The French have a much greater reach across the globe than you may think.
  • United States of America: 14 Territories.