What are non-attainment cities?

What are non-attainment cities?

Non-attainment cities: These are those that have fallen short of the National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) for over five years.

What are the 6 NAAQS pollutants?

EPA has established national ambient air quality standards (NAAQS) for six of the most common air pollutants— carbon monoxide, lead, ground-level ozone, particulate matter, nitrogen dioxide, and sulfur dioxide—known as “criteria” air pollutants (or simply “criteria pollutants”).

What is the 8 hour ozone standard?

0.075 ppm
The 2008 ozone standard is set at a level of 0.075 ppm averaged over an 8-hour period. This standard is met at an air quality monitor when the 3-year average of the annual fourth-highest daily maximum 8-hour average ozone concentration is less than or equal to 0.075 ppm.

What nonattainment category is DFW currently in?

On August 23, 2019, the EPA reclassified the 10-county DFW area from moderate to serious nonattainment. The attainment date for serious nonattainment areas was July 20, 2021 with a 2020 attainment year.

What are NAAQS based on?

The U.S. National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS, pronounced /ˈnæks/ naks) are limits on atmospheric concentration of six pollutants that cause smog, acid rain, and other health hazards.

Which cities in India are nonattainment cities?

Rajasthan has five non-attainment cities – Alwar, Jaipur, Jodhpur, Kota and Udaipur, all with the same 44 action points and the same timeline for implementation.

What constitutes a nonattainment area concerning environmental pollution What classifications exist for such nonattainment areas?

In United States environmental law, a non-attainment area is an area considered to have air quality worse than the National Ambient Air Quality Standards as defined in the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1970 (P.L. An area may be a non-attainment area for one pollutant and an “attainment area” for others.

How are NAAQS established?

How are NAAQS selected? NAAQS are selected by the U.S. EPA Administrator at the conclusion of a public process that takes about five years for completion. The process starts with a comprehensive review of the relevant scientific literature.

What is the NAAQS for pm2 5?


Pollutant [links to historical tables of NAAQS reviews] Level
Ozone (O3) 0.070 ppm (3)
Particle Pollution (PM) PM2.5 12.0 μg/m3
15.0 μg/m3
35 μg/m3

Where can I find information about designated nonattainment areas?

Information is current as of the Green Book posted date and is available in reports, maps and data downloads. Select one of the NAAQS below to view information about designated nonattainment areas.

Are the NAAQS maps downloadable?

The maps are downloadable as zipped PDF files. The filenames of the zipped maps include the date the Green Book was posted. The individual state maps have been generated with ESRI shapefiles for the NAAQS listed below.

What is the NAAQS level of 15 µg/m3?

* The 1997 Primary Annual PM-2.5 NAAQS (level of 15 µg/m3) is revoked in attainment and maintenance areas for that NAAQS. For additional information see the PM-2.5 NAAQS SIP Requirements Final Rule, effective October 24, 2016. (81 FR 58009)

What are the filenames of the zipped NAAQS maps?

The filenames of the zipped maps include the date the Green Book was posted. The individual state maps have been generated with ESRI shapefiles for the NAAQS listed below. Since area shapefiles are not available for standards other than those designated before 2004, maps for older NAAQS are national maps based on whole county boundaries.