How many cities are in Bayelsa State?

How many cities are in Bayelsa State?

The state is comprised of eight Local Government Areas, they are: Ekeremor, Kolokuma/Opokuma, Yenagoa, Nembe, Ogbia, Sagbama, Brass and Southern Ijaw.

What is the capital city of Bayelsa?

Yenagoa, town, capital of Bayelsa state, southern Nigeria, in the Niger River delta.

How many communities are in Yenagoa?

Twenty-five (25) communities were visited in Yenagoa Local Government of Bayelsa State….Research design.

Rural community Sample size
Opolo 16
Biogbolo 16
Yeneizue Gbene 16
Yenagoa 16

Is Bayelsa the smallest state in Nigeria?

Bayelsa state is the 10th smallest state in Nigeria in terms of landmass. However, it is the least populated state in Nigeria and also have the smallest number of Local Government Areas (8 in number). This state is located in the Niger Delta region and also one of the largest oil producers in the country.

How many languages are there in Bayelsa State?

30 languages
Bayelsa State has 30 languages with Ijaw(Izon), Nembe and Ogbia as the dominant languages.

Are there Igbos in Cameroon?

Large ethnic Igbo populations are found in Cameroon, Gabon, and Equatorial Guinea, as well as outside Africa.

What language do Ijaw speak?

During a 1 September 2000 telephone interview the Secretary General of the Ijaw Youth Council (IYC) stated that the Ijaw people speak Ijaw (Ijo), but do not speak Igbo, not even as a second language. The only exception is in the Boni area of Rivers State where some Ijaw do speak Igbo as a second language.

Who created Bayelsa?

Creation. Created from old Rivers State on October 1st, 1996 by General Sani Abacha. The name “BAYELSA”was derived from three local government area acronyms namely Brass (BA), Yenagoa (YE) and Sagbama (SA).

What is Bayelsa postcode?

Area: Amarata-Epie

Streets Zip Codes
Bayelsa State Scholarship Board 560231
City Express Bank 560231
Civil Service Commission 560231
Co-operative Dev. Bank 560231

Which is the least state in Nigeria?

1. Lagos State | 3,345 sq km. Lagos is estimated to be 22 times smaller than Niger state which is the largest state in the country. Despite being the smallest state in the country, Lagos has the highest population at over 20 million inhabitants.

Is Anambra bigger than Lagos?

This table ranks Nigeria’s 36 states in order of their surface areas….List of Nigerian states by area.

Rank State kmĀ²
34 Imo State 5,530
35 Anambra State 4,844
36 Lagos State 3,345

How many local government areas are there in Bayelsa State?

Bayelsa State consists of eight local government areas: Brass. Ekeremor. Kolokuma/Opokuma. Nembe. Ogbia. Sagbama. Southern Ijaw.

Where is Bayelsa State located in Nigeria?

State in Nigeria. Bayelsa is a state in southern Nigeria in the core Niger Delta region, between Delta State and Rivers State. Its capital is Yenagoa.

What is the official language of Bayelsa State?

State in Nigeria. Bayelsa is a state in southern Nigeria in the core Niger Delta region, between Delta State and Rivers State. Its capital is Yenagoa. The main language spoken is Ijaw with dialects such as Kolukuma, Mein, Bomu, Nembe, Epie-Atisa, and Ogbia. Like the rest of Nigeria, English is the official language.

Where is the LGA headquarter of Bayelsa State?

The administrative headquater of the LGA is in the town of Sagbama. Southern Ijaw LGA has an administrative headquarter located in the Town of Oporoma, and the LGA is under Bayelsa Central Senatorial district of the state. Yenagoa LGA is the capital local government area of Bayelsa state.