Are there still French colonies in Africa?

Are there still French colonies in Africa?

French West Africa (French: Afrique-Occidentale française, AOF) was a federation of eight French colonial territories in Africa: Mauritania, Senegal, French Sudan (now Mali), French Guinea (now Guinea), Ivory Coast, Upper Volta (now Burkina Faso), Dahomey (now Benin) and Niger.

What African countries are under French rule?

France has been holding the national reserves of fourteen african countries since 1961: Benin, Burkina Faso, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Mali, Niger, Senegal, Togo, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo-Brazzaville, Equatorial Guinea and Gabon.

What are the French colonies today?

The five overseas regions of France are:

  • Guadeloupe (Caribbean)
  • Martinique (Caribbean)
  • French Guiana (South America)
  • Mayotte (Indian Ocean)
  • Réunion (Indian Ocean)

How many French colonies still exist?

France currently has 13 overseas territories across the globe that are home to some 2.6 million people. All of the residents are French nationals, can vote for president and send representatives to France’s National Assembly and Senate.

Where did France colonize in Africa?

By the early years of the twentieth century the French held most of what would come to be their colonial territory in West Africa (including present day Senegal, Mali, Burkina Faso, Benin, Guinea, Ivory Coast and Niger).

How did France colonize Africa?

The French presence in Africa dates to the 17th century, but the main period of colonial expansion came in the 19th century with the invasion of Ottoman Algiers in 1830, conquests in West and Equatorial Africa during the so-called scramble for Africa and the establishment of protectorates in Tunisia and Morocco in the …

Was Morocco a French colony?

1912 – Morocco becomes a French protectorate under the Treaty of Fez, administered by a French Resident-General. Spain continues to operate its coastal protectorate. The sultan has a largely figurehead role.

Who did France colonize?

Other African countries colonized by France include Gambia, Chad, Mali, Togo, Sudan, Gabon, Tunisia, Niger, Republic of Congo, Cameroon, and several others. In North America, France colonized the New France region, Newfoundland, and resent day Haiti.

Is Algeria a French colony?

France was the colonial power in Algeria for 132 years and Algerians won their independence in 1962, after a seven-year war marked by atrocities including acts of torture.

Which African countries were French colonies?

French Equatorial Africa : was the federations of French colonial possessions in Middle Africa , extending northwards from the Congo River to the Sahara Desert , some of the territories are Chad, Gabon, and French Congo.

What were France’s colonies in Africa?

France Équinoxiale (Bay of São Luis) (1610-1615) The island of Saint Alexis (1531) The Territory of Amapá (1897) (disputed Franco-Brazilian territory resolved in favour of Brazil) The city of Viçosa-Ceará (Territory of Ibiapaba) (1590-1604) France Antarctique, to Fort Coligny ( Rio de Janeiro Bay; intended as a haven for Huguenots) (1555-1567)

What is some information on French colonies in Africa?

POLITICAL ORGANIZATION OF FRENCH COLONIES IN AFRICA. Administratively,politically,and practically,Africa never functioned as a unified object in French colonialism.

  • What are the two African countries colonized by the French?

    Zanzibar – by Portugal in 1503. The European influence began by the visitation of Vasco da Gama in 1498.

  • Algeria – by France in 1830. According to historian Ben Kiernan,who writes about the French conquest of Algeria: ‘In 1875,the French conquest was complete.
  • Comoros – by France in 1841.
  • Rwanda – by Germany in 1884.